Australia & Oceania

Category: Continent
Location: Planet Earth
Countries: Australia, Micronesia, New Zealand, American Samoa, Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam (US), Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wallis And Futuna

Australia is the smallest continent on Earth. It covers an area of ​​7,700,000 km2. It includes Australia, New Guinea, Tasmania and the surrounding islands.

New Zealand is not on the same continental shelf and is part of a wider continental region called Australasia.

The continent (or, better therm: geographic region ) that includes Australia, New Zealand, and other Pacific islands is called Australia and Oceania. (Or it can be found by only one name: Oceania.)

Oceania, in the narrow sense, is the common name for many islands and island groups in the Pacific Ocean. In addition, Oceania consists of large island groups of Melanesia, Micronesia, Polynesia, and New Zealand as a special entity, the largest country in Oceania.

The largest islands in Oceania are North and South New Zealand, and New Guinea (the second largest island in the world).

Log in to see the catches.